In Which She Won’t. Shut. Up.

I quit my job almost 4 months ago and I couldn’t begin to describe all of the positive changes that have been bestowed upon my life. Our life.

For most of the past 10 years I would arrive home at the end of the day already spent. I stopped cooking. I stopped reading, crafting, and gardening. I stopped talking. I stopped eating and sleeping. The only thing I did for myself was go to the gym. And that was only because it was there on site and free. Literally, it took everything I had to get up in the morning, make it through the day where I was ON all day long – answering questions, making critical decisions, meeting everyone else’s needs but my own – and get back home to my safe place.

And coming home and shutting down would have been okay if not for my husband and children. I was only half-present for the last years my children spent at home and for the past 2 years was mostly absent to the point that not only did my marriage almost not survive, there were times that I didn’t think I would physically survive it.

BUT NOW! Now the house is spotless. I’m cooking, reading, and crafting again. I’m eating and sleeping. I’m engaged with our left-at-home son, and when Tim walks in the door I Won’t. Shut. Up. Regardless of whether or not I’ve been snapping my entire day to him while he tries to work. I tell him about my workout, about lunch with the girls, about gardening, my sister, the cat, the podcast I listen to. I tell him about the laundry, my next blog post, the feelings I’m still processing about the asshole-micromanaging-dictator who was my last boss. I tell him about my hike in the woods, the crazy speedy lady at the gym, the itchy bump I have on my left ankle. And only when his eyes glaze over do I catch myself and remember to ask him about his day and if he needs a beer.

We’re down sixty-thousand dollars a year, which was our vacation and Buy Whatever We Want Money, but I think we’d both agree that the toxicity that that job brought to our lives wasn’t worth the extra money.

About seven20owen

I'm a sometimes skinny, sometimes not recovering social worker free spirit, mom of 4, wife to Tim, Ravenclaw, Hoosier and a Boilermaker. Dance with the dog when no one else is home.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Reflection, The Past and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment